What we do

The main activities of Ide Parish Council include :

  • Firstly to set the annual precept, which is the amount we request as our income each year from Teignbridge District Council.
  • With the precept the Council then meets its running costs including expenditure on the clerk’s salary, the village website, a computer and IT software, Council meetings, community and capital projects, working groups, and the annual production of accounts and audits for public accountability. We own and administer Ide Community Orchard and Weir Meadow Recreation Field with Northern Fields.  We also administer eight allotments for residents, the cemetery, the war memorial, benches and planters, the children’s play area, the car park, the bus shelter, flood trash screen grid, dog waste bins, Coronation Gardens and notice board, the container with sand bag supply, a strimmer, the defibrillator and two football goals on The Green
  • Liaison with the local police and Neighbourhood Watch on crime, security and traffic issues.
  • Scrutiny and comment on planning applications within the parish, submitted to the local planning authority, Teignbridge District Council.
  • Initiation of capital projects to improve the environment, appearance and amenities within the village.
  • Maintenance, repairs and improvements to parish facilities including recreational areas, public spaces and cemetery.
  • Liaison with other local authorities on the maintenance, repair and improvement of highways, drainage, footpaths, cycleways, public transport, street cleaning, conservation matters including trees and listed buildings, & environmental issues.
  • Liaison with Ide School on road safety, the children’s Play Area, community use of the MUGA, and access to the garden allotments
  • We operate on a small budget and many of the services we provide are funded by grants and other external sources.
  • There is a parish fund which has given assistance to numerous groups and projects in the village.


Working groups and committees

Planning Committee:

  • Ben Ervine (Chair)
  • Rachel Herbert
  • Mark Thomas
  • Laura Bell

Weir Meadow WG and Joint Projects Fund Raising Group

  • Richard Cottle (chair
  • Nick Bradley
  • David Howe
  • Rachel Herbert
  • Cheryl Haddy
  • Doug Bell
  • Stuart Brooking
  • Peter Skinner
  • Richard Cloke
  • Andrew Ash
  • Mel Liversage
  • Ide Community Orchard Management Group:
  • Mark Thomas (Chair)
  • Julian Perrett
  • Nick Bradley
  • Andy Bragg
  • Richard Sharman
  • Mark Thomas
  • James Romain

Emergency Planning and Covid-19 Working Group:

  • Paula Burton-Perrett
  • Ben Ervine
  • Dave Black
  • Ian Campbell

Other websites that may be of interest include: